Congress Certifies Electoral College

Congress Certifies Electoral College

( – Wednesday, January 6, was supposed to be the day Congress certified the Electoral College results for the 2020 presidential election. Instead, it devolved into chaos as rioters stormed the Capitol building, delaying the Constitutional process well into the early hours of Thursday morning. After objections over Arizona and Pennsylvania results were overcome, Vice President Mike Pence made the declaration at 3:30 am ET that Joe Biden will be sworn into office on January 20, 2021.

Earlier in the day, several Republican Senators and nearly a hundred House Republicans said they would object to the Electoral College results in six states. Their chief concern centered around overwhelming evidence of widespread voter fraud or state-level executive branch overreach. However, after the day’s intensity, many Republicans withdrew their objections to all but Arizona and Pennsylvania.

Sens. Josh Hawley (R-MO), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Roger Marshall (R-KS), and Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) led the objection efforts. In addition to the five, Sens. John Kennedy (R-LA) voted only for the objection to Arizona, and Rick Scott (R-FL) and Cynthia Lummis (R-WY) voted only for objection to Pennsylvania. Ultimately, the House and Senate threw out both objections by widespread margins — with large numbers of Republican support.

At approximately 4 am, President Trump released a statement saying he disagreed with the election’s outcome. However, he stated there would be an “orderly transition.” It’s not known if the president will continue to fight through lawsuits. However, Trump did say it was just the “beginning of our fight to Make America Great Again!”

Copyright 2021,